Your browser does not support JavaScript!

FCA Presents Bobby Bowden Award to Baylor's Bryce Petty

Thank you for supporting FCA. To make a donation, simply click the link: DONATE TO EMERALD COAST FCA. From there you will be taken to our secure donation website on where you may choose to:


    Make a single gift with credit card or e-check


    Make a recurring monthly gift with credit card or e-check


    Learn about other ways to give


You'll also have the opportunity to create your own personal account to manage your information, update payment information, download year-end tax receipts, and much more. 

We appreciate your partnership with FCA. You are helping to change the lives of athletes and coaches throughout the area.

FCA Presents Bobby Bowden Award to Baylor's Bryce Petty

The Fellowship of Christian Athletes presented the 2014 Seminole Tribe of Florida Bobby Bowden Student Athlete of the Year Award to Baylor University’s Bryce Petty at the College Championship Breakfast Sunday, Jan. 11, at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Dallas.


Petty, quarterback for the Bears and a Midlothian, Texas, native, was a candidate for the Heisman Trophy, the Maxwell Award, the Manning Award, the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award and the Big 12 Player of the Year. He completed 36 of 51 passes for 550 yards at the very close 42-41 loss to Michigan State in the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic.

Bobby Bowden, former longtime head coach at Florida State University, was the featured speaker at the awards breakfast. Bowden amassed a career head coaching record of 410-141-1 and is the winningest coach in major college football. FCA President and CEO Les Steckel also gave brief remarks at the breakfast.

“Sunday’s Bobby Bowden Awards Breakfast was a celebration of student-athletes across the nation, many of whom will go on to become professional men and women, parents and community leaders,” Steckel said. “We congratulate Bryce for his stellar season, his leadership on and off the field and his academic achievements.”

Speaking to Baylor of the award, Petty said, “This is meaningful for me for two reasons. First it’s an award about Christ, and to me that’s the ultimate prize anyway – when we talk about success, it needs to be credited to the One who has enabled us to have success.

“Second, the platform we have as football players is not to be taken for granted. Too often, players think it’s just about them and get too caught up in thinking that all have the same opportunity and that’s not true. We’ve been given a great opportunity – we need to keep it in perspective – it’s not just about wins on the field, it’s as much about off the field accomplishments.”

The other two finalists for the award were:

-Mark Murphy, safety for Indiana University and an Akron, Ohio, native who started 42 of his 47 career games. He recorded 279 tackles and two interception touchdown returns in 2014 and became the third Hoosier to collect Capital One Academic All-America honors twice. This season, he also earned the National Football Foundation’s Scholar-Athlete Award, and was a finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy and a candidate for the Senior CLASS Award, the AFCA Good Works Team and the Wuerffel Trophy.

-Deterrian “D.T.” Shackelford, linebacker for Ole Miss and a Decatur, Ala., native who was named to the preseason watch list for the Lott IMPACT Trophy for the second straight year and became the first ever two-time recipient of the Chucky Mullins Courage Award. He was also the Wuerffel Trophy winner, the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Captain and earned Capital One Academic All-District VI honors.
The Bobby Bowden Award recognizes the Football Bowl Subdivision player who epitomizes a student-athlete. He must conduct himself as an exemplary model in the classroom, on the field, on campus and in the community.

The award, sponsored by the Seminole Tribe of Florida, was conceived by Vince Gibson, a former Bowden assistant at South Georgia College who went on to become head coach at Kansas State, Louisville and Tulane before he passed away in 2012 from Lou Gehrig’s disease; and Vernon Brinson, one of Bowden’s former players at South Georgia College in the 1950s.

Past winners of the Bobby Bowden Award have included: Jason Wright, Northwestern University (2003); Billy Bajema, Oklahoma State University (2004); D.J. Shockley, University of Georgia (2005); Carl Pendleton, University of Oklahoma (2006); Jacob Tamme, University of Kentucky (2007); Stephen McGee, Texas A&M (2008); Colt McCoy, University of Texas (2009); Christian Ponder, Florida State University (2010); Case Keenum, University of Houston (2011); Ashton Richardson, Auburn University (2012); and Jake Matthews, Texas A&M (2013).

Other 2014 nominee included:

Jed Barnett                  University of Oklahoma

Vic Beasley                 Clemson University

Chris Conley               University of Georgia

Sam Carter                  Texas Christian University

Jeremiah Deter            University of Toledo

Max Garcia                 University of Florida

Christian Green           Florida State University

Andrew Hudson         University of Washington

Joshua Lambo             Texas A&M

Terrance Plummer       University of Central Florida

Lee Skinner                 University of Buffalo

Jared Tevis                  University of Arizona

Brian Vogler               University of Alabama

Jordan Pierce               Air Force Academy

Sam Rogers                 Syracuse University

Jeffrey Whitaker         Auburn University

Dylan Thompson         University of South Carolina

Jake Waters                 Kansas State University